The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this memorandum, the owner of Movies Galore recommends that they increase profit margins by reducing operating hours and eliminating all movies released more than five years ago from their stock. This recommendation is based on the purported success of these changes in one of their 10 stores and the idea that their main selling point is their offering of good movies at low prices. While the argument seems logical, there are several questions that must be answered to ensure to decide whether the recommendation would have the desired result.

Firstly, what is the stores main customer base? Is this the same over all 10 stores? The owner argues that the proposed changes will be effective based on its success in their downtown store, but if the age range, education level, or working hours of their customer base in different stores differs, the recommendation would need to be modified significantly. For example, if the downtown store is frequented primarily by teenagers, their new 6 pm closing time would still allow their customers to come by and the new selection of exclusively recent movies would still address most of the video needs of their consumers. However, if another store is primarily frequented by working adults who are busy till 6 pm, and who like to rent older movies for nostalgia’s sake, the new changes would be seriously detrimental to that store’s profits. Instead, a better solution would be opening the store later instead of closing earlier and maintain an older stock while being slower to buy new stock.

Secondly, are there other stores that can offer competition to Movies Galore outlets? If not, or if the prices of the other stores are significantly higher than Movies Galore, the owner’s objection to raising the rental prices is invalid, as customers would continue to frequent their stores even if prices were increased slightly. However, if it is a tight market with many competitors, the recommendation to reduce operational costs and maintain their reputation would be more valid.

Finally, what is the cause and severity of the recent profit decline? The owner claims the recommendation would “reverse” the decline, but if the cause is people switching from video rentals to online streaming, the profits are likely to continue to spiral downwards and this recommendation is only delaying the inevitable. Instead, it may be necessary to make major changes in the business direction, for example by diversifing Movie Galore’s offerings beyond videos or host community movie screenings. However, if the decline comes because of an economic recession for example, this recommendation would be very appropriate to boost profits and keep the business afloat in the time needed for the economy to pick up.

Therefore, the memorandum provides a logical recommendation, but with insufficient information to evaluate it. Further evaluation of whether the recommendation will be able to reverse the profit decline requires answers to questions concerning the cause and severity of the profit decline, details of the individual outlets’ customer bases, and knowledge of the level of competition to the various outlets.