Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas in which the disease is detected However since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations we cannot permi

Cow flu is one of the deadliest disease in the recent times. Once it is detected in a certain area, there are few ways to stop its spreading within the human. The given passage discussess inoculation as one of the way to save valuable lives and finally dismisses it beacause of the associated risks. While the aim of the author is make a recommendation which is beneficial to the people, the argument provided contains some major flaws in its reasonings and assumptions.

Firstly, the author mentions that if inoculation against cow flu is routinely administered against people then many lives might be saved. But it comes with a risk. But the author does not provide any information on if there is any alternative way for fighting cow flu. If there is not any viable alternative and inoculation is the only way of surviving against this disease, then there is no way but to take the risk. Even if there are alternatives, they might not be more effective than inoculation and might come with a greater risk. So, further evidence must be provide regarding alternatives which might be able to save lives and their effectiveness to strengthen the argument.

In addition, the excerpt states that the possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculation is small. But the passage fails to provide the quantification and study method for determining that possiblity. How small is the possiblity of death due to inoculation? Does it increase or decrease if the inoculation is done routinely? If the possibility is sufficiently low and stasistically improbable the inoculation might be the safest choice to save lives against cow flu. Detailed study regarding this must be done and the author should answer these questions in order to strengthen his position.

On the other hand, the inoculation might actually come with greater risk than benefit. The first statement says many lives might be saved but doesn't specifiy actually how many life. If the percentage of success is not sufficiently high, then inoculation might not be safe afterall and the author is righteous in his recommendation of not permiting this approach. But more evidence needs to be given which will corroborate the author's position in the passage.

The argument presented by the author not only suffers from flawed assumptions but also lack of evidences in developing his recommendation. Including the answers and evidences mentioned above will definitely strengthen his argument and provide the readers a better background for the recommendation.