All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The choice of getting outside consultants or not shouldn't be treated as a trivial one. Most common than not, companies are often faced with such dilemma and the decision made at such instances goes on to either make or mar the company's efficiency. The prompt suggests that if companies spend more time listening to their employees, outside consultants would be unnecessary. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this suggestion and argue than company looks inside rather than outward to drive efficiency for three reasons.

First, many consultants have a different opinion of things which might be different from the orientation in the company's area of operation, and they are always eager to impose their methodology on the company. For instance, in the 1980s the Nigeria Water Corporation invited a set of consultants to Nigeria, to drive better efficiency. The consultants came with approaches that were not parallel to the behavioural pattern of the citizens of Nigeria. This resulted in cultural instability and even much lower efficiency.

Secondly, aside from the fact that consultants come with different mindset and dynamism, they are over very expensive to manage. Some consultants need to travel very far distances before arrival and as such will require a lot of money from the company in terms of feeding, hostel management etc. It would be better for the company to invest such money on already existing workers by sending them to focus driven and result-oriented training. This will also build trust amongst the workers and make them willing to work better. Research has shown that an employee that is happy and highly motivated will work better and produce greater efficiency.

Lastly, companies listening to their employees will drive better efficiency as such employee will give suggestion based on their experience of the Job. Experience, as we all know, is the greatest teacher. When one makes a mistake, such experience will teach him how not to make that mistake again. Tell me how an employee will improve if he is not allowed to air his own opinion. Tell me how he will improve if he is not allowed to try things differently.

Of course, some might argue that with the current situation of things where dynamism is key, it is better to bring outside consultants. However, is that not the reason why companies need to focus inward? is that not the reason why companies need to listen to their employee? is that not the reason why companies to build trust among workers? Companies looking outward rather than inward do such at their peril.