The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics’ magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the letter to the editor, the author concludes that resources should be invested in unmanned space flight. He came to this conclusion based on the fact that manned space flight is costly and dangerous, and also, successes have been recorded in recent unmanned space probes. Though this conclusion may be true, it rests on several unwarranted assumptions that if not carefully evaluated weakens the persuasiveness of the argument.

First, the author assumes that the manned space flight and unmanned space flight are comparable. This may not be the case as individually flight might have its specific function. and the usefulness of one might not be comparable with the usefulness of the other. It is also possible that there is a specific period where unmanned space flight can be used and also where manned space flight can be used. It is possible that the climate condition in the largely supports unmanned flight in the winter, whereas in the summer where there is increased turbulence which will require human to control, only manned space flight can be launched. If either of the above holds, then the author's argument is significantly weakened.

Furthermore, even if both flights are comparable, the author presumes without substantial evidence, that the cost of launching an unmanned space flight is lesser than that of launching a manned space flight. This may not be the case, as unmanned space flight may require additional sophisticated engines whose prices are far greater than the manned space flight. Maybe the unmanned planes will require three additional turbo engines to operate whereas only none is required for the manned. It is also possible that the unmanned space flight will require other additional expenses like unmanned travel license and government-imposed levies which are not required in manned space flight. The author can better improve the substantiality of his argument by providing evidence to show that launching an unmanned flight cost lesser than launching a manned flight.

Finally, the author assumes that both manned and unmanned flight can gather the same amount of useful information and that there is no reason why preference should be given to manned space flights. Maybe an unmanned space probe can only gather 10% of the total amount of useful information a manned space probe will gather. It may be the case that sending men and women into space increases the volume of useful information that can be gathered. It is also possible that manned space flight stays longer in space and captures a greater volume of information due to higher time spent in space. If either of the above scenarios holds, then the author's argument is inviable and does not hold water.

In conclusion, even if investing resources in unmanned space flight will yield equal fruit as manned space flight, the author's argument as it stands now is substantially flawed. The author needs to provide more evidence may be in the form of scientific research for the argument to be better evaluated.