Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

The topic of influence is interesting and quite confusing. Some students think they are more influenced by their teachers, while some others argue that influences from their friends are more. The prompt suggests that we do not belabour this point for too long, stating that "students are more influenced by their teacher than by their friends." In my view, I completely disagree with the prompt, and argue that friends have greater influence on students, than teachers do for the following reasons.

First, students spend more time with friends. Research has shown that the more time people spend together, the more the influence they have on one another. A student tends to have very limited time with his teacher. For example, a student who engages his teachers only during school hours, and spends all of the evenings, weekends, and holidays with friends and play group, will have more of his character and traits derived from these friends. As such, the impact a teacher will have on such a student will be very minimal, when compared to impact from friends.

Furthermore, students relate better with their friends than with their teachers. Influence is dependent on relationship. A relationship that is not healthy and well developed, will not allow for influence. Students have challenges relating with teachers, because teachers appear really strict. For example, I had a mathematics teacher in secondary school who was very stern. As a result, even when I had problems with solving an assignment, I preferred to engage my friends than going to visit the teacher. Hence, the teacher's influence on me was limited due to unhealthy relationship.

Of course, some might argue that the choice of a student's career is been decided by his teacher, and that is enough influence. However, this is not the case, as most student are prone to choosing a career based on engagements with friends. A recent class survey I conducted on college students showed that 90% of students chose a career based on their friend’s choice of career. This is also evident among professionals as you find more company developing from a group of friends.

In conclusion, students are more influenced by their friends than by their teacher, because, they spend more time with friends, and have a healthier relationship with them. This is a call for parents to be really careful when allowing friends around their ward as friends are so influential.