Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some people believe that video games are great method to raise children’s creativity. However, I do not agree with this idea and would like to explain my opinion with some examples as below.

First, video games may be helpful to increase a creativity to some children, but not great way. Generally speaking, other ways such as books, movies, TV shows are mainly regarded as great methods to grow creativity. That is why most schools recommend children reading books and watching good movies for creativity, not playing video games. For example, most CEOs of worldwide innovating companies read lots of books to keep their creative thinking for endless innovation and they strongly recommend children to do the same.

Second, video games have too many disadvantages to children, even though they may have an advantage learning creativity to some children. The main disadvantages of video games are to become lack of concentration and to be addictive by playing games too much. So, children should be careful in playing video games not to have the mentioned bad effects. For instance, one Korean university professor strongly insists that government should enact video games as an addictive one like drugs, because they are so harmfully affect to children’s mental health.

To sum up, video games are not so helpful for children to get the creativity and even they have seriously bad effects to mental conditions if children play them for long time. In this regard, I do not support the video games’ usage for increasing children’s creativity.