Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Video games are one of the best innovations in the 20th century. It is thought by some people that children should not be allowed to play them because it is such a waste of time. However, In my view, children should learn how to play those fascinating games. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore as follows.

First of all, playing computer games would help children to learn new things in a new form, which traditional learning would not offer to them. Video games could stimulate children creativity and enhance their logic. For example, statistics have shown that 95 percent of children who played video games were able to quickly adjust themselves to challenge situations and be able to solve puzzles. Compare that with counterparts who did not developed these practical skills. Playing video games is not only entertaining, but also children gain a sense of achievement. According to this, kids should be allowed to play video games in their spare time.

In addition, perhaps most importantly, playing these games could enrich family life. Children like to play with adults and other kids. They prefer to ask questions and enjoy playing as a team. Moreover, during the game children could strengthen the family relationship with their parents or siblings. Playing in a group could help kids to achieve victory through dedication that they learn through the game culture. For instance, a couple of decades ago, when I was a child, I played with my brother video games when we had free time. One of the reasons why I played with him was because I wanted to had a better relationship with him. We use to fight all the time with each other because we disagreed for everything. Nevertheless, playing with him, helped us to see each other differently. We saw that we liked being on each others company and playing together. Because of these video games, which most of the time require two or more people to play them, helped me to have a better relationship with my brother. That is why kids should play these games, so their relationship[ with family members could be improved.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that children should play computer games. This is because they could enrich family life, and because children could learn new skills and broaden their knowledge by entertaining themselves.