Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some people argue that playing computer games is total waste of time. They cite that it does not serve any educational purpose and harmful for eyes. However, I strongly disagree with these people and I think that computer games is not a waste at all. It has so many advantages for children. I will support my viewpoint with three reasons.

First of all, children enjoy computer games a lot. In todays world, where there is lack of outside fields for children to play physical games, computer games are best alternatives. In serves the recreational purpose to children. For example, when a child is bored and wants to have some fun but there is no scope to play outside with his friends he might enjoy a computer game. However, without computer games, if a child who does not have access to play outside, he will be missed out from playing games world with frinds and mentally be alone. Thus, it is one of the best recreational source for children.

Second of all, computer games help children learn new things and as they are learning these via entertainment they tend to remember these for a long time. My own experience is a compelling evidence of this. I used to play a computer game that was related to maps and names of places of famous architectures. I learned a of them from that game and also remebered them fr a long time. That information helped me a lot in my social science class and I did pretty well in my final exam. If had to learn them by reading from books I would have find it boring and it would be very much impossible to memorise all of these. In this way, computer games help children a lot to learn so many things and it cannot be waste of time.

Finally, some computer games are dedicated to develop children's thinking ability and development. For instance, there are maze games, board games, puzzles, chess, card games that require mental ability and these games help children to develop their mental ability. There is another good advantage to play online games, that is they can make frinds with people around the world. In some online games they require to play in a group. Sometimes that group is created randomly from people of different countries. When a lot people playing together, they create a bond with each other. This is very helpful for children to make new friends.

In conclusion, the issue of whether children should be allowed to play computer games or not is complex. Some people think that playing computer games is a waste of time because sometimes it is related to violence. Nevertheless, I still contend that computer games have a lot of advantages and children should be allowed to play them.