Do you agree or disagree with the following statement At universities and colleges sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support Use specific reasons and examples to support your an

Some people believe that at universities and colleges, sports and social activities are not as important as classes and libraries and should not receive equal support because they believe that it is just a waste of time and money. However, in my opinion, I believe that sports and social activities are as important as classes and libraries for three following reasons.

First of all, sports and social activities are performed in a group. When a student joins sports and other activities he learns how to work in a group and cooperate with others. It improves their communication skills and also helps them to manage and coordinate activities with different types of people. For example, when a student joins a college science club or cultural club he meets a group of people with shared interests from diverse backgrounds. Working with them, maintaining a flexible time schedule, and organizing events help a student to be more active, organized, and social. Although there could be possible disagreement with others and scheduling and maintaining time with everyone else could negatively affect class work but that is not much.

Second of all, students who participates in outdoor sports are likely to be more physically fit. They have to exercise a lot and that boosts their both mental and physical states. For instance, when a student joins a football club or basketball club he has to practice regularly and keep his body fit so that he can play well. They also organize competitions with other players. Sometimes they win or lose. That's how they learn how to cope with failure and improve themself so that they can do better next time. However, some people will say that sport drains their energy to study and to concentrate on assignments but in the long run, they do excel.

Finally, not every student wants to become a scholar. Some want to be cricketers or singers or artists. By participating in college or university sports clubs or social activity clubs, they can find their inner talent or maybe their future profession. For example, if someone wants to be a footballer, then he needs to join a college football team and practice so that he can pursue this as his future profession. Or someone may just find out that he plays really well and that he can join the national team in the future.

In conclusion, for these above reasons, I believe that sports and social activities are as important as classes and libraries.