Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Today we live in the world of technology where we see new innovations in every field of our lives. Specially technology have changed children’s lives in every aspect. Our children are busy all the time using mobile phones and computers to play video games. In my opinion playing computer games for limited hours is not a waste of time and children should have persmission to play video games for a couple of hours every day because it can improve their mental ability, feeling of enjoyment, and working hard for achieving certain goal..

First of all, playing computer games for a couple of hours everyday can improve children’s mental ability to resolve things. Researchers have done a study to prove this also.They divided children into two groups. One group allowed to play video games everyday for 1-2 hours, while the other group was not allowed. After a few months, they found out that children who were playing video games were achieving good grades in their school as compared to the other group of pupils who were not. So I think children should play video games for certain hours, but not all the time.

Second, playing video games can create feeling of enjoyment and happiness in children. I have seen so many kids when they are crying for certain things and if their mother give them laptop or phone to play a video game, their mood changes right away. They seem very happy while playing games. Best example is my nephew who is five years old. Whenever my sister starts to do her household work, he gets annoyed and do not let her do anything. But, if my sister turn on video game on a computer and let him play for a while he gets excited and busy playing and my sister can finish all her work while he is having fun by his own.

Finally, by playing video games, children can learn how to work hard to achieve something. There are a lot of video games these days in which a child have to work hard to win something in the game. Like sports games. For example if a child is playing a basketball game in a computer and he/she will be a player who has to win the game. Naturally, he/she will start working hard to win the game. After winning a game he/she will learn that for getting something in life he/she has to work hard.

In conclusion, playing too much video games is not good for a child. However, children can play a couple of hours of video games because this can improve their mental level, can create feeling of happiness, and can teach them to work hard for achieving something.