The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In a memorandum from the president of Humana University, the president concludes that creating and actively promoting online degree programs like those at Omni University will address the failed growth in enrollment at Humana University, the increasing cost of maintaining buildings and the budget deficit. This conclusion is based on the fact that Last year in which, Omni University saw an increase by 50 per cent in the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs, it also saw a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space. However, to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, Is Humana University comparable to Omni University? Are they in the same ranking level? Do they teach have the same category of courses? Perhaps, Omni University is ranked way higher the Humana and hence every student wants to study there. Also, there is a possibility that the courses offered in both universities are not similar. Humana university may offer art courses which appeals more to the students in the vicinity why Omni University offers advanced calculus courses which the students within the vicinity has great apathy for. If either of these scenarios is true, then the president's prediction is significantly weakened.

Secondly, will the faculties at Humana University be able to take courses online? Are they as much driven by technology as the faculties in Omni University? There is a possibility that the faculties at Humana University are archaic and incorrigible. They may still be focused on teaching with old fashioned techniques which cannot be brought online. Also, it is possible that taking courses online requires some special set of skills which are abstruse for Humana University faculties. If the above is true, then the president's argument does not hold water.

Finally, even if Humana University is comparable to Omni University and the faculties in Humana University be able to take courses online, will instituting online degree programs not even further decrease total enrollment? The president assumes that online degree programs will increase its total enrollment. Perhaps taking online programs might skew the focus of the university staff away from the in-class degree program and hence distort the workflow is that area. Also, the staff strength at present might not properly manage both in-class and online degrees. If it is true that the number of staff is very low would not be sufficient to run both programs, them the creation of these online degree programs will do little or nothing to help Humana increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems.

In conclusion, it is possible that immediately instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems, however, the argument has it stands now is considerably flawed due to unwarranted assumptions. If the president can answer these three questions above and offer more evidence, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.