As we progress into the 21st century, educational opportunities are expanding. Some students have found great success in studying online at their own pace. Other students prefer a more traditional education in a typical school building. Which manner of studying do you think is better? Use specific examples and reasons to support your opinion.

Education is vital to the development of any individual. The value an individual will derive from education is dependent on the manner of studying adopted. Many times, our manner of study is influenced by our environment and other factors that are sometimes not controllable. Some prefer online studying which is a self-paced and flexible mode of study while others see value in the traditional approach which is a restricted and timed mode of studying. In my opinion, the conventional mode of studying is better as it develops self-discipline, builds interactive skills, and is less expensive.

First, traditional education in a school building develops self-discipline. In schools, time is properly scheduled for a class, break, exercise and other activities. Therefore, the student must conform to the specific time outlined else he will face the consequences for doing otherwise. This way, the student is better prepared for the work environment where a strict schedule is the order of the day. For example, a student who is used to getting to school as early as 8:00 am would not find it difficult resuming for work at the same time. However, for students who have enjoyed the flexibility of studying online, adapting to work demands becomes extremely difficult.

Furthermore, traditional education in a typical school building equips students with interactive skills. Interactive skills are essential to building a well-rounded student. An individual who has not grasped enough interactive skills as a student will find it difficult negotiating as a business manager. The school building allays this fear as it encourages interaction among the students. For example, in a school building, some class exercises are been conducted in groups. These exercises would not only teach the students how to resolve problems but would also teach them how to work in a team and interact with other individuals. The ability to work in a team and the ability interactive effectively, cannot be derived from online studying. As a result, it will be extremely detrimental for a student to study online instead of studying the traditional way.

Finally, some might argue that studying online cost lesser when compared with traditional education. This is not the case as studying online actually comes with a lot of associated expenses that many students are least aware of when making a choice. For instance, the cost of purchasing a laptop and internet subscription is very high. This cost is expected to rise further considering that the government has recently tripled the amount of VAT paid on electronic goods and services. However, this cost does not apply to the conventional education model. The student only needs to think of the cost of transporting himself to school when considering the traditional model. Hence, going to a school building to study is cheaper.

In conclusion, traditional education in school building remains a better study manner when compared to studying online at one's pace. This is because it develops a complete student who is disciplined and socially active. It is also relatively more affordable for every individual. How I wish that more schools are built to accommodate more students, in that way, maximising the benefits of in-class exercises.