many university graduates cannot find a job in their chosen profession what factors may have caused this situation and what in your opinion should be done about it? give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is even more common for university students not to be employed in their envisioned field upon the end of their studies. In this essay, I am going to discuss the two main causes that I think are leading to this situation and what can be done to solve this problem.

The first issue is that many students decide unconsciously their specialization field. In particular, they are not used to look at employment data so their choices mainly depend on friends’ suggestions and common trends. For example, Bachelors in Economics and Law are becoming increasingly popular among the youngest even though the available openings are sharply decreasing. To solve this problem high schools should introduce additional seminars to show students the real needs of the labour market and to help them decide wisely their major.

The second issue is more related to some specific university programs. This is the case of the humanities, which, being mainly focused on theoretical concepts, usually do not teach students some practical skills, yet they are required by employers. As a result, in order to acquire this knowledge, a graduate is forced to do internships in unwanted sectors before starting working in one of his competence. This situation might be easily avoided by including in the curricula some additional courses, such as economics and finance, which would deeply enrich their education.

In conclusion, fresh graduates would be more likely employed in their preferred field if some adjustments were made by institutions. Firstly, high schools should organize more seminars to help students to choose the most suitable specializations. Secondly, some theoretical programs should be made more practical by including additional courses in their curricula.