Many universities graduates cannot find a job in their chosen profession what factors may have caused this situation and what in your opinion should be care about it

When young people are choosing what subject to study at an institution, most of them hope they will find a great job upon completion of graduation, in reality, most fresh graduates fail to find work in their field and some are even forced to take up below graduate level jobs. In my point of view, the root of this problem lies with the outdated higher education system that should be modernised.

Traditional university learning’s do not prepare students for the first job for a number of reasons, one of them is that many programmes are too theoretical it means that highly educated students’ lack of simple skills required for employment, for example, the knowledge of an IT software employer prefer candidate with hand-on experience. Another reason is that universities offer too many courses in popular field such as business and law, and do not recruit enough student to engineering and science programmes. As a result, the UK labor market has an oversupply of law graduates and a deficit of engineers.

A reform of higher education could reduce many of the problems, but would require joint effort from study centre and government. If organizations work closely with employers, they could teach students practical skills that companies look for. Meanwhile, the government could develop guidelines on how many students’ universities should recruit in each subject in accordance with the market demand.

In conclusion, a likely reason why many graduates cannot find a job in their field is because those colleges might not have provided them with the right skill set or in-demand profession. I think that the universities and the government could improve the situation by updating the content of the programmes and limiting the number of students in each subject in line with the market demand.