More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or remotely rather than going into an office each day Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages

Thanks to today’s technological advances, supporting a work from home policy is increasingly accessible. It not only lets employers skip on the costs associated with an office, but it also provides freedom and work flexibility. Working from home is filled with both joys and woes. In this essay, I am going to weigh these out, and see if the pros exceed the cons.

When you work from home, the time returned on normal tasks is reduced significantly. Rather than packing your car, a bag, and navigating traffic, all of that is eliminated. Moreover, any need to get properly “ready” for the workplace pretty much goes out the window. Furthermore, because you eliminate this preparation time, employees can start their day earlier and enter their focus zone without all of the steps of physically getting to your office. Secondly, Productivity gains are massive. Office chats, desk discussions and noisy team lunches can be seriously distracting, particularly if you’re currently working in an open floor plan. A quick walk to the company kitchen could turn into a 15-minute chat that you weren’t planning on, and slow down your workflow. Thirdly, if you don’t have to shell out the cash for expensive office space every month, think about all the other things you could do for your company (or your profit margins). Lastly, on top of saving financially, you also reduce consumption, trash production, gas spent getting to and from the office and thus help mother earth.

As wonderful as it is to work from the comfort of your home, distractions come in different forms. At home, we may have our laundry, an unfinished art project and household chores to do. Secondly, Some people end up getting less done without the direct supervision of managers. Without the motivations inherent in an office setting, productivity can just as easily decrease rather than increase when you institute a work from home policy. Lastly, a work-from-home policy will institute less face-to-face time between various teams and individual employees on the same team required for team-work.

To conclude, I would suggest that the upsides of working from home surely exceed the drawbacks of this policy. Not only is it good for the productivity of the employees but also good on the environment. As it saves on valuable resources like electricity and helps to reduce our carbon footprint.