The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year What do you think of this trend

Nowadays, continuous assessment over the school year has become more popular rather than having traditional exams. Traditional exams are being replaced by continuous assessment as the latest trend in education. I personally think that the new trend helps the students more than the traditional way of evaluation.

Our education system has been long neglected in terms of being up to date and the curriculum has been requiring an overhaul since ages. Firstly, the traditional exam system tends to push the students for last-minute studying. Most of the students end up procrastinating when it comes to studying frequently and laboriously because the traditional exams are not held in quick successions and hence make the students laidback. Secondly, this approach does not challenge the students to work hard enough on studying. Instead of aspiring to gain actual knowledge, it instils the bad habit of memorizing the answers just before exams which in my opinion is not the correct way of evaluating students.

Since the shift in trend and introduction of steady tests, it has been found that students are much more informed about their studies. This system keeps the students on their toes and keeps them ready for constant evaluation which in turn makes the student understand the subject more efficiently rather than just mugging up all the information. Another advantage of this system is that the students are more inclined towards studying because of the healthy competition which has been induced due to frequent tests. It reminds them where their friends and classmates are when it comes to academic progress and hence they study not only to be ahead of their peers but also to know where they stand.

To conclude, the traditional exam system has been long outdated when it comes to evaluation as it prompts students to mug up at the end instead of preparing for it throughout. This new trend changes that and inspires students to be prepared for assessments more efficiently and imparts more value to their knowledge.