The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the sentence above while supporting that Smith Corporation should be stopped in the acquirement of the land for their new hotel have provided arguments that are generally not well-supported and that can be easily refufed. As a matter of fact, at least three logical problem can be easily detected.

First of all, while arguing that the sanctuary has a fundamental role in the survival of the biodiversity of the bird population of Youngtown, no scientific data has been provided in support to his affirmation. Because of that, even if the first part of his reasonament may be true, it is neither supported by any analysis nor past anecdotes and it cannot be confirmed.

Secondly, he fells worried about the construction of the new hotel because of the dramatical consequences that it will have on bird population. However, his fears are not understandable since he has also reported that the Smith Corporation has promised to preserve the Reserve. Furthermore, it is reasonable to say that they are not going to change their mind in the future, because this choice would provide benefit not only to the local community and enviroment, but also to their activity. Indeed, the only well-rounded reason to decide to build an hotel in a place like that is to make the host live a wildlife experience, which would not be possible without preserving it.

Moreover, the last concern of the author takes into account the economy of the community. He is strongly convinced that ruining the wildlife the structure will damage Youngtown tourism as well. Actually, it is right the opposite. Thanks to the building a this new structure far more tourist will be able to go there and admire their Reserve, giving many advantages to the economic scene of the land.

In conclusion, if the writer had reported more data and had made a deeper reasonament, his thesis may be partially correct. However, it is clear that the advantages of the construction of the hotel broadly overweight the drawbacks and that writer's thesis is dramatically without foundations.