All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The author of the statement above argues that hiring external consultants is not the best way to improve the efficience of the employees' work, saying that this problem would be better handled by spending more time listening personally to the workers.

To my mind, I tend to mostly disagree with his opinion for three main reasons and I am going to explain my own view in the next paragraphs.

Firstly, I am strongly convinced that listening to the opinion of all the people who are working in the same company one by one, as the writer seems to have suggested, is an high time-spending activity. In fact, having just one professional external figure who organizes meetings including all the workers is way faster. All this adds to the fact that it is very likely for people who works in the same place to share the same problems and having a high qualified person would be really helpfull to organize people and to solve similiar problems all together.

Moreover, the possibility to get over a shared problem with other workers all together is a team working activity that, nowadays, is even more important in big companies. As a matter of fact, there is not a better way to make people closer than allowing them to help each other in order to solve the same issue. For instance, some little groups of conversation about a particular internal problem could be made and those who think to have the same difficulty could fell free to join in.

Finally, to my mind the strongest point of an outside consultant is his experience. Even if, as the author has suggested, doing internal listening sessions would be way easier for all concerning flexibility, its success would not be garanteed.

To put it in another way: in the most of the cases, specialised external people works in many different companies so this situation helps them to have a heavy background full of casistics and a wider view of the overall situation. For this reason, in my reckon their hiring is an highly appropriate investiment which will improve without any doubts the working athmosphere.

In conclusion, I believe deeply that the hiring of professinal figures as consultants has to be strongly encouraged in every company order to make the working scene more collaborative and relaxed.