Our past experiences shape the way we look at people and the world around us.

What are some of the experiences that have shaped your outlook and the way you live now?

Use specific examples to support your answer.

Past experiences and past choices strongly influence our personality and our behavior in everyday life. Personally, there have been two main facts that have changed my mindset and my scale of value so far.

The first one is my sport career. I have been a high-level sailor for 14 years and I have traveled around the world for trainings and regattas. The first thing that I have learnt is resilience. To put it in other words: if you really believe in something you do not have to give up on it, even when everything is against you. Another lesson I have learnt is the sense of duty and responsibility, not only for myself but also for other people and for nature. As a consequence, today I feel really involved in earth care and I consider myself as an empathic person.

The second experience that has deeply shaped my personality is moving to Milan. When I was 14, I decided to move from Cagliari to Milan with my father because of my sailing career and other family problems. This change made me reflect a lot on many aspects. In particular it has been fundamental for me because I developed a personality and I have acquired independence both from places and people. I have discovered that even if friends are really important in our lives, we should not completely rely on them, but only on ourselves. Moreover, I discovered that we do not depend on the environment in which we are living, but just on who we really are interiorly. Thus, the greatest outcome of this happening was learning how my personality was, freed from every social influence. In my opinion, the self-awareness that I have gained during that period is currently shaping my everyday actions and the way I take decisions.

In conclusion, even if every moment of our life has some consequences on our personality, some of them are more important than others. In particular, my sailing career has helped me to acknowledge the value of other people and nature while the change of city made me realize the importance of having a strong identity.