You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals.

How true is this statement?

How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

You should write at least 250 words.

Human eyes captures image with quality reaching close to 250 mega pixel. No other man made device has been invented yet to reach such high definition. Depending on which colour is presented to our eye intensity, contrast and brightness gets adjusted automatically. This complex yet fascinating body part lead pychologists to reasearch upon affect these colours can have on our moods, emotions and health. Some people assert that colours in office spaces, hospitals and rooms should be given considerable attention as they influence our behaviour and mood. While others state that these colour schemes do not have that much influence. In my opinion, I mostly agree with former group and I feel this way for two reasons.

Colours have power to imbue positive energy into us. Imagine a hospital room with dull grey colour on its wall and a person lying in bed with very few ounces of hope left within him, suddenly a friend walks in with colourful balloons and a sparkling get well soon card. In almost all cases these colourful items bring a positive energy into theroom along with smile on patients face. The effects of using colours in these vicinities has been obsereved at so many instances that hospitals have now started to change its interior. But effect of positive energy brought by these colours is not limited just to hospitals as you can observe comparable affect of colours in offices and study rooms etc. Research done by google says that employee's productivity rises by 14% when they face good, bright and picturesque artifact from their seat and also when they have large windows that bring in natural colours and light into the building. Many big companies have even started to incorporate the result of this rearch into their office spaces as well and now offices of companies like microsoft, amazon and apple have large trees facing office spaces, colourful quotes written in campus crosswalks and play area where seats and table have amalgum of colors. This was done to ensure that employees are never dull and are always filled with positive vibes throughout office complex.

On the other hand, colours can have few negative effects as well. As colours are known to grasp our attention, they can be distracting as well. Because of this reason many schools have fix uniforms. Student wear mostly blue, grey or khaki colour uniform which create a symmetery in school and offers less distraction. Even labs of school are painted in white, offwhite or in some dull colour so that student attention doesn't get diverted and focus can increase towards task at hand.

In conclusion, colour influence can be postive when we want to imbue postive energy and boost confidence and in such cases paintings and colour imagery seems helpful. But at the same time when focus at a particular task is to be maintained without much distraction colour can have negative effect as well.