A movie producer sent the following memo to the head of the movie studio.

“We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

According to the letter sent by producer to the head of movie studio, the movies working title is bound to fail unless the funds for the film are increased by 10%. Producer asserts that the novice directors is likely to take a lot of time in shooting and thereby causing the uptick in expenditures on the fee of actors and crew members as they would have to work extra hours. He asserts that whatever money money has been saved by hiring such inexperience crew will thus be offset and cause movie to fail. However, before this argument can be properly analysed, two specific pieces of evidence must be collected and analysed.

First, evidence must be collected to check, are their any other factors that can assure a film to fail. Producer assumes that money is the only significant factor to develop a quality product, but it seems quite absurd since there can be multiple scenarios where a film, although being well fed with money, fails to work. For instance - a script of movie can probably be abysmal enough to cause movie to fail, even after a studio spends large chunk of money. Additionally, its not only the script that can cause movie to fail, maybe the actors hired, although experienced, aren't competent enough to deliver the emotions required to play the role on screen with finesse. This can again cause audience to eschew from movie and therefore can be probably a cause of failure. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the producer is estimating the experience of director in movie making field with his talent, while it seems rational at superficial layer but its quite spurious to assume anyone's artfulness just on the basis of his experience. As there can be the case that novice producer has something new and fresh to offer and can probably be a breakthrough from the conventional films that people have gone indifferent from watching them over again and again. This new experience can actually assess in films success rather than film failure, as ticket sales to watch something fresh might offset every unpropitious factor that his inexperience brought to the table. Moreover, IT is unclear whether shooting an add film and shooting a film requires different set of skills, and if the skills aren't that much different in both the fields than the experience of director can't be ignored. If any of the above presumptions come the producer's argument doesn't hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide the two pieces of evidence stated above and perhaps conduct systematic research study, then it will be be possible to determine the producer's assertion.