Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Some people say that most of people have dreams which are innately selfish and therefore advice to "follow your dream" should underpin more on selecting worthy goals, while others might assert that people should follow their heart irrespective of whether dreams that they want to pursue are selfish or selfless. In my opinion, i believe latter choice that dream should not be based on weighing worthiness of them. I feel this way for two reasons.

To begin with, journey of persons to convert their dreams to become reality involves some level of selfishness in its path either explicitly expressed or implicitly conveyed. And thus not picking a goal based just upon norms of selfishness sounds absurd. We are part of species that has been competing with one another for even trivial things from its start, and this relentless competition has taught us that you would have to walk over certain number of people in order to reach destined place. Take an example of SAT exam conducted in USA for undergraduate admission each year,and there are students who want to join top universities, do you think students help each other in examination center to score higher? answer is no since competition limits the seat for admission and colloquial saying goes that this exam breaks several friendships. This drive of inherent selfishness is the only thing that makes difference between the one who get success and who fail.

Secondly, when lot of attention is placed on delibrately sitting for days and weighing pros and cons of various goals and dream that lie in front then it augments indecisiveness and thereby makes people to vacillate from one goal choice, adjudicate its worth, to another. This can be easily seen among people in stable jobs with moderate income, and the trend that follows is that these people when try to teach lessons of choosing stable jobs to their children then some of their children who get swayed by this idea keep meandering from one career profession to another. And even in this school of thought slefishness to remain stable is the driving force and thus saying that worthy goals demands selfishness seems absurd.

In conclusion, lucid thinking to pursue what your heart desire and not giving a lot of attention towards worth is the only way one can achieve what he or she desires.