"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

According to the prompt, business manager asserts that television channel should revert to devote more time to weather & local news and lesser time to late-night national news. Manager bases this on the assumption that, since time allocated for national news has increased complaints from viewers were related to coverage of weather and local news. Moreover, she states that advertisers have also canceled their contract who previously used to advertise on late-night news program. However, before this argument can be analyzed two peices of evidence are required.

Firstly, business manager assumes that local business have canceled their contract since the increased focus is being given to national news. But she doesn't elucidates whether any other reasons are equally likely. Perhaps, it can be the case that local businesses left advertising on channel because of better offers that competitive channels were providing to them. Moreover, it can be the case that news anchors which used to keep audience enthralled with their proper elocution of news have joined other channels and therby swaying away advertisers along with them to competitive channel. If any of the above instances comes true, then the position made by the manager doesn't hold water.

Secondly, its not clear whether the circumstances that made people watch local news last year still persist. Business manager assumes that more time for weather and local news which brought large viewer ship last year will repeat at current time as well. It can be the case, that a particular incident like crime mystery which was local to city or some local election might have made people to watch local news last year, but after a year as there migth not be anything that interesting going on so it is possible that allocating more time to local weather and local news would not lead to increase in viewership. If this case is true, then the claim made by the manager that allocating more time to local news will attract viewership is false.

Thirdly, manager mentions that compaints recieved from viewer were mostly concerned with coverage of weather and local news, but it doesn't clearifies what were the complains. Perhaps, it can be the case that complaints were mostly bad reviews directing channel to shut down waether an local news once and for all. Or it can be the case thatthey might be complaining about assigning entirely different time to weather and local news unlike the night time as mentioned in the prompt. If such is the case, then saying that allocating more late night time to local and weather news will attract viewership is totally wrong.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is significantly flawed due to its reliance on several unstated assumptions. It the answer to above assumptions is provided by the business manager and perhaps a study is conducted to analyze them, then the position made in this argument can be properly analyzed.