The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

According to the prompt, a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University asserts that Seatown should provide policy that makes tuition free for college-aged children of professors as it would increase faculty retention and additionally lure new professors. However, before this asserting can be validated answers of three unstated assumptions are required.

Firstly, prompt assumes that providing free higher education to college-aged children of professors was the main reason behind higher faculty retention is Oceania University. However, it can be the case that provisions like free tuition was just tip of the ice berg among all the facilities and benefits offered along with it - which professors value more than just a provision of free tuition. Perhaps, it can be the case that Oceania University has better research facilities where professor can do their individual research and no such facilities are available in Seatown University. Additionally, it can be the case that location of Oceania and lures professors to stay longer. If any of these assumptions come true, then saying that free-tuition of college-aged children of professors will augment their retention is significantly wrong.

Secondly, prompt assumes that provisions that attract professors of Oceania University will remain same for Seatown University or in other words prompt assumes that factors that influence retention in both university are comparable. Perhaps, it can be the case that professors in SEatown University are young and most of them do not have children in college age group than slightly older age group of professors of Oceania University and have children who are about to enter college environment and take amass of professors savings for admission to raft of programs offered in universities. Moreover, it can be the case that Seatown University is present in a secluded area and professor spend lot of time to reach university and thus provision like accomodation on campus can be better way to lure and retain professors than free tuition one. If such is the case, then claim made in the prompt doesn't hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unstated assumptions. IF answers to above unstated assumptions are provided and perhaps a study is conducted to analyze their validity, then the claim made in the argument can be properly evaluated.