Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Some people see mass media and internet as boon that has enhanced their ability to arrange information according to their quality, while other say that although internet and mass media pose in front of us copious amount of information they make it impossible to choose quality from these profusion of information. In my opinion mass media and internet, although being very useful in accumulating raft of information of various topics, they do not enhance ability to find the crucial information from large quantities of information that mass media and internet offers. I believe this for two reasons.

To begin with, abundance of information makes it harder to stick to a particular point of view and thereby leading people to continuously vacillate from one information to another. Take an example of students who want to write an article on status of unemployment of USA. When these student go through various articles present in media then they will be simultaneously bombarded with several articles where in some of them overall positive outlook to unemployment is being conveyed and in others totally opposite outlook is being conveyed and these kind of situations are likely to result in students hopping from one chunk of information to other without reaching a conclusion. Getting pertinent and viable information is hard in these media outlets and thus rather than making it easier to sort information, most of the time is spend meandering from one piece of detail to other.

Additionally, lesser ability to focus on one brings with it another factors lack of skills to discern relevant information form irrelevant ones. When we keep jumping from one information to another , only superficial knowledge of subject matter is gained and a vague outlook which gives a feeling as if we have gained an abundance of knowledge begins to prevail within us. This false confidence sometimes in turn leads us to focus more on irrelevant information due to some unimportant reasons like interest on that area begins to stir up etc., and thereby leading us to totally divergent path and classifying information as important due to personal biases. Thus rather than choosing quality of information we get lost in quantity.

Some people might say that without these mediums people might never be able to get the amount of information that can be obtained withing few minutes, but still question remains same how to choose which information if correct and not just superflous? untill people are able to focus on few basic details that gets them fundamental understanding of what can be considered apt information these tool w