Argument Topic: The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

According the letter, West Lansburg council should prohibit the development of road along the edge of coastal wetlands in order to preserve the region's biodiversity and to make sure that healthy milie is being maintained.Letter posists that a sanctuary at nearby area - Eastern Carpenteria - saw a popluation of one of habitat to decline, once the sanctuary status was retracted. However, before this argument can be properly evaluated,two pieces of evidence must be collected and analyzed.

Firstly, Its not clear what actually was the reason behind dwindling sea otter's population. It is quite plausible that sea otters were gradually declining before the Eastern Carpenteria's sanctuary status was even removed in 1978. Additionally, another likely case can be that sea otters were declining because of paucity in the food sources they prey upon - which had nothing to do with its sanctuary's status. Moreover, another probable cause could be that sea otters had intentionally left that habitat way before the sanctuary's status was repealed. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, no evidence is present to assess what does the word "similar sanctuary" actually mean in the letter. If similar sanctuary means that both of the sanctuaries are comparable in every aspect then the argument stated in the letter might have some weight, but since it is not clearly it makes difficult to comprehend argument's position. For instance - Eastern Carpenteria town could be way to near city and removal of sanctuary status could have caused many outsiders to land on the site during weekends, holidays etc., which could have made it difficult for sea otters to inhabit in the sanctuary anymore, and as it is not clear therefore nothing can be sqaid about west lansburg, it is highly likely that the town is rustic and doen't have many visitors through out the year and thus developement wont affect the daily chores of the habitat and it would be able to maintain healthy environment. If above is true, saying that development would have deleterious affects on biodiversity and environment doesn't hold water.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If further evidence as stated above are provided and perhaps systematic research study is conducted, then it will be possible to determine argument's validity.