The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Self-consciousness and self- knowledge have always been promulgated as the medium to reach apogee of success. Some people assert that familiarity can act as an impediment while ascending the ladder of self-knowledge. In my opinion it is true only upto an extent and amalgam of novel and familiar experiences play a crucial role to attain self knowledge. I have give below the three circumstances to support my view.

Firstly, knowledge of our surrounding keeps us aware of surrounding, and this attention act as a rudimentary step in attaining knowledge about one self. Take an example of ancient practice of mediation, it has been seen as the most effective technique for attaining awareness, as it teaches us to focus on our surrounding elements to such an extent that whenever an instance related to a familiar event passes through our mind - which can act as an obstacle in attaining self-awareness - our abounding familiarity to such elements of milieu suppresses such thoughts. This suppression of unwanted thoughts helps our mind to focus on present and look within ourselves free from of any disturbance. Thus a constant practice of making ourselves more aware of surrounding and our familiar thought process helps us to attaining exorbitant amount of self awareness which liquidates itself into self awareness.

Secondly, rejection of well known elements of our life creates a double identity of a person, and this makes a person indecisive by constantly struggling to keep 'familiar' out of context. Constantly fighting our mind to keep it out of past eventually becomes a very cumbersome tasks which makes a person performing such practices vulnerable to succumb back to an environment where the person person is being constantly dragged down by his banal acts. For instance - consider a person trying to reject all the pasts of his life at once and trying to assume a new life. Now, in performing such act that individual is basically trying to reject his old identity, but since the past identity and the current identity, which he wants to attain are basically reaping out of same body, therefore, it makes such person even more open to harm while taking even mundane decision. Thus in order to prevent ourselves from creating a double identity which confounds various aspects of our life, being familiar can actually act as a boon.

On the other hand, Since all the individual don't have the comparable past therefore rejection of familiarity that constantly haunts an individual day and night can be beneficial. This technique of rejection is applied many times by psychologist after carefully considering the person. Psychologist assert that in order to calm the mind of individual with a past which is filled with melancholy and sadness can have severe effects and only way to limit its effect is by forgetting the past as much as possible.

As we can see taking a side on such complex issue is not an easy task. Each side has its benefits and repercussions. Thus familiarity can be a boon or bane to attain the self knowledge depending