The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

According to the prompt, Buckingham college should build abounding number of new dorms in order to serve housing needs of students that are likely to enrol at college in future. Prompt bases this upon assumption that current trend of enrolment will probably remain same in future as well. Additionally, it asserts that students would prefer to stay in dormitories as average rent at off-campus housings are soaring. However, before this argument can be evaluated three specific evidence are required to properly assess prompt’s position.

Firstly, prompt assumes that enrolment trend will continually increase over period of time and thus dormitories requirement will probably increase. It doesn’t take into account several other factors that might likely change the entire housing situation for students enrolled in future. Perhaps it can be the case that in future most of the courses that previously required student to attend classes can be taken online and thus most student can attend courses remotely and thereby making increasing dormitories insignificant. Additionally, it can be the case that student enrolment in the university doesn’t remain as steady as predicted in the prompt and thus investing in making new dorms remains a dicey endeavour. If any of the above case is true, then the argument made in the prompt doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, prompt doesn’t provide information regarding rent that Buckingham college charges for staying in dorms. It assumes that increasing rent for an apartment in town is enough to lure students to choose dorms, but it doesn’t convey the difference between rent of staying in dormitories and off campus housing. It is probable that rents in dorms also accrue over period of time and there is not consequential difference between the rents and therefore making the argument position dubious. Moreover, it can be the case that rent of staying in on campus dorms is larger than staying off campus and thus making students to choose to stay off campus despite increase in rent in off campus housing. If such is the case, then asserting that increase in rent at off campus housing will lure students to stay in dorms is false.

Thirdly, prompt assumes that attractiveness of housing facility is the only factor that students consider while choosing where to stay. Perhaps it can be the case other factors like reach to downtown area of city, proper transportation facilities for commuting during weekends and adequate internet speed etc., are some factors that also affect students choice. Thus asserting that making dorms attractive would be enough is considerably wrong.

In conclusion, argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If answers to above stated evidence are provided and perhaps a study is conducted to analyse their validity, then the prompt’s position can be properly evaluated.