The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

According to the recommendation presented from the board of directors of Monarch book, it states that Monarch book should open a cafe in its store as opening a cafe, in their already established business in that location for more than twenty years, would allure more customers. Directors base this upon the assumption that a place can be set up for the cafe by removing a children’ s book section - which would soon lose its popularity- as a survey done on the children population predicts a decline in their population. Moreover, Board uses an example of a competitor who did the same and attracted more customers. However, before the claim made by the board can be evaluated answers to three questions should be analysed.

Firstly, are Regal books cafe location and Monarch books location comparable. As it is unclear that what caused a surge in number of customer visiting Regal books cafe, therefore, nothing can be assumed whether opening a cafe at Monarch book location will lead to a similar situation. Perhaps, Monarch cafe is in the place that doesn’t have any nearby cafe and opening a cafe just gave people of the area a place to sit down and have conversations. Whereas, a location at Monarch books might be such, that lots of famous cafe already exist around it and thus it won’t lead to any uptick in people visiting it. If such scenario comes true, then the claim made by the board doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, are the children book only read and bought only by children and no other age group at all. Board of directors assume that removal of children book section, following a survey that predict decline in children population, and supplanting it with cafe would attract customers, But that might not be the case. Maybe some people who buy children book for some research or educational purpose would stop visiting the place once that section gets abridged and thereby, causing a declining in customers. Or there might be the situation that children were never coming to the store, instead their parents or guardian used to buy the books for them and removal of such section might sway them away from the store. If any of the above situation comes true, then the claim made by the directors is significantly flawed.

Moreover, will people still visit place after the cafe is set up. It has been assumed that the setting up the cafe would have no change in opinion about the place among the people visiting. Perhaps, the cafe creates an environment where a person who just used to go there because of the halcyon environment might deter himself/herself from visiting as the cafe brought lot of people who are constantly having conversation and creating some noise around. If above answer comes true then the claim made by the board is not correct.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If the answer to above questions is provided and perhaps a systematic study is conducted to analyse them, then the argument made by the directors of Monarch books can be properly analysed.