“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

According to the prompt, the self-governance or independence of a nation is contingent upon the strength of its borders therefore illicit immigration in the country should be checked, and such immigrants should be send back to their origin country as they are the biggest threat to economy and national identity of the country. However before this argument can be properly evaluated, two specific pieces of evidence must be collected and analysed.

Firstly, whether the autonomy of a country solely dependent upon the strength of the border is unclear, and there can be several other factors that make a country autonomous. For example - If a country lacks sufficient technology - like electricity, internet etc., - then in such instances, the threat posed by illegal immigration might not be that severe in hindering the autonomy. Additionally, even if the country has the self sustaining technology but it lacks the workforce to work upon them, then in such cases it could be another factor where a country might have to depend upon other countries. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the editorial doesn't hold water.

Secondly, what constitutes the national identity is obscure in the newspaper editorial, as the national identity in some instance can be amalgam of various people - like that in cases of India, USA etc., - if such is the case of a country then their would not be any threat to the national identity of a country as it would still be medley of people from different religion and race. If such is the case for a country then argument made in the newspaper doesn't hold water.

Thirdly, its unclear what illegal immigrants bring to the table, as the editorial just mentions them as the threat to economy, but there can be situation where the immigrants become prolific elements of the growth of the country. For instance - id the immigrants are highly educated and they are somehow ensuring the uptick in the economy then such infusion of immigrants can act as a boon, and returning them to their native country can hurt the country where they immigrated too. If such evidence comes out to be true the efforts to return them to origin state, would not make sense and thus it would weaken arguments position.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If further evidence, as stated above, are provided, and perhaps a systematic research is conducted, then it would be beneficial is assessment of argument's position.