A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

According to the prompt a pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food as it had received complains that pets that consumed the food showed various signs of illness, but when the samples of recalled food were tested then it was found that all chemicals present in food were approved to be used for pet food. Thus prompt concludes that recalled food was not the reason behind symptoms that pets showed. However, before these conclusion can be validated answer to three unstated assumptions are required to be collected and analyzed.

Firstly, argument mentions that after pets showed symptoms 4 million pounds of food was returned but it doesn't clear whether copious pounds of pet food returned was exactly the same that was tested. It can be the case that out of 4 million pounds of food returned only a portion of it belonged to the category that was the reason behind illness and since the company assumed that entire 4 million pound belongs to same category, they in turn tested the sample that was good for consumption but belonged to the batch returned. If such is the case, then the claim made in the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, it is not clear whether chemical approval is enough to ensure that food is safe for consumption. Perhaps it can be the case that along with chemical approval quantity of food consumed is also an important factor that should be kept in mind. Maybe the owners gave a large quantity of food and caused chemical overdose which caused the illness. Additionally it can be the case that the way food was consume was the issue, and reason behind sickness was the food was consumed along with some other food that doesn't get along well with it. Thus saying that recalled food was not responsible for the symptoms mentioned in the argument is considerably wrong.

Thirdly, prompt states that company should not devote further resources for testing and assumed that test for chemicals done on recalled sample is enough. However, it can be the case that results of one test were biased and further testing is required to be conducted by an even handed third party. Therefore cross validation can be important step to ensure arguments validity. Thus saying that recalled food wasn't the problem just by test for chemicals is not right.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is totally flawed due to its reliance on several unstated assumptions. If answer to above unstated assumptions are provided and perhaps a study is conducted to evaluate their validity, then the position made in argument can be proved.