Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

According to the prompt, alleged decline in arctic deer population is due to obstruction imposed by melting sea ice which leads their food inaccessible to them. Prompt asserts that deer forages for food by moving over ice and now the global warming trends have caused ice to melt and because of that mobility of deer has been stymied. However, before the argument can be analysed two pieces of evidence are required to properly assess the claims made in the argument.

To begin with, it is not clear whether hunting has anything to do with the decline of deer population. Perhaps, too much hunting has caused the population of arctic deer to dwindle down and which has nothing to do with the melting of ice. Additionally, it can be the case that hunters reports are apocryphal, and they are hiding the real numbers so that they can get higher value of for the hunted deer by showing the ‘paucity’ in arctic deer population. If anyone of the above scenarios is true, then the position made in the argument that the decline is due to melting of ice doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, nothing is clear about the food source available to gaze over. It can be the case that the food source i.e. the plants these deer feed upon aren’t in abundance and most of the deer dying of exhaustion in search for food for prolonged period of time rather than by inaccessibility to reach the food source just because of obstacle imposed by melting ice. Moreover, its probable that the food source is so limited that it creates competition among the deer and various struggles and fights occur, and thus acting themselves as the reason for the population decline. If such is the case then claim made in the argument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is significantly flawed due to its reliance on several unstated assumption. If the answer to above unstated assumptions is provided and perhaps a systematic study is conducted to check the validity of such evidence, then the claim that melting of ice due to global warming is the cause of decline can be properly judged.