Friendships can be very meaningful and special, but also very complicated. What are the qualities of a great friend? What are some things that can weaken a close relationship over time?

Humans encounter myriad people in their life time and out of those only few resonate and match in their likes and dislikes. That small number of people then form a bond or relationship called friendship, but in a span of a life time several of these friends leave and many new bonds keep on getting formed in somewhat cyclic manner. Though people coming into our life and leaving is a continuous process, there are few individuals that stay and form a special bond that strengthens with each passing day. If we take a sample space of such long lasting relationships, then we can find profusion of characterstics common in all such friendships. And at same time there is a large corpora of common reasons that weakens a close relationship. Fiven below are few characterstics found in friendships that become stronger over time, and those which become complicated and then weakens.

Most crucial reason that buttresses a bond is honesty. Good friends never lie to each other, and they rather than lying or giving a euphimistic response, advice veraciously and bluntly whenever they feel need to do so. Another comparable characterstic of great friends is that they don't slander or calumnize another friend behind their back. Information in which something ill is being told about a person who is not around, somehow usually reaches that person and whenever that happens trust gets broken and is very hard to amend. This characterstic is never found in true friends and they rather defend friend who is getting defamed. Moreover, providing support in sickness and in health is another quality only found in great friends. They make time to meet, do fun activities together and help us whenever in need. Whenever the qualities are present in a relationship, then such friendships only get stronger with time.

Similarly, reasons that make friendships cumbersome over time lie in close vicinity with the reasons that make bonds stronger. Being unfaithful is at top of that list. Whenever, their is an intent on malice and a significant amount of dishonesty in a friendship then such relatioships are bound to fail. For instance - "friendship" between boss and an employee in an organisation is one of them where fawning nature of employee and his yes man kind of attitude becomes the reason for collapse of such bonds as soon as employee leaves organisation. Distancing themselves and not being in touch regularly is another reason that can loosen a relationship. Being in touch periodically ensures that bond is maintained and never weakens.

In conclusion, a very thin line lies between a friend who is great and friends who just get lost over course of time. Ensuring that degree of honesty is always maintained and finding time to be in touch can be two most important characterstic for a long lasting friendship.