Some people prefer to work on school projects with a group, while others would rather work alone.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Projects and assignments are intrinsic parts of school curriculum and education institutes usually associate certain amount of marks for such activities in each semester. These tasks help students to grasp chunks of knowledge without a direct supervisiory guidance with aim to make cohorts of a class self-sufficient in conveying and expressing a new idea to someone. While some students are of opinions that projects should be individually allocated to them, others assert that such assignments should be given as a group task. In my opinion both sides have its own pros and cons.

Working alone can prevent chances of having a free loader in a project. Free loaders are certain student that participate bare minimum in the group assignments. Thus, chances of encountering individuals who benfit from effots of others get eliminated when a student individually completes a project. Additionally, flexibility of students to allocate time is higher since problems like mutual agreement over a time to meet, place to discuss and debate are no longer needed to be considered. Flexibility to work wherever and whenever students feel comfortable is another benefit of working alone. Moreover, it gives opportunity to learn a large branch of information on the assignment topic as students has no other people to divide portion of topic. This learning opportunity reduces to a significant amount in group project where individuals get chance to study only a portion of the topic.

On the other hand, focusing just on certain area of a given topic can make students learn about that portion in depth and group project can serve as an important way to achieve such goal. Other added benefit that comes from group projects is enhancement of orator and debate skills. Students in a group discuss the portions covered by them in common meetings through presentation and dicussion of chunks of individually learned areas, and these activities boosts abilities of students to explain and assert their viewpoint with full confidence. Group projects offer a very good opportunity for students to learn how to work in teams. Learning this skill from a young age can help them in future where most of the work is done usually in teams.

In conclusion, choosing a side in such topic is quite complex as both sides have their own benfits. Benefits of one can not be overshadowed by skills offered by others and proper mix of both kind of projects in school curriculum can ensure that students get best of both formats.