Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Moral lessons are crucial chores in one's nurturing. There are different ways by which society teaches these lessons in order to create a moral society. Some people assert that morality should be foundational step of education, while other say that rationality must play eminent role in education to ensure that society produced has morality. In my opinion more emphasis should be placed on logical reasoning in education than in building a education curriculum whose primary foundation is to teach morality. I believe this for two reasons.

To begin with, pragmatic thinking gets developed when core foundation of our education is entrenched upon logical reasoning. People in such society do not gets swayed by their emotions and always weigh gravity of situation before making any decision. Take an example of organization whose only goal is to teach particular mores related to a society and keep principles before logic. When faced by an abberant scenario people who have been nurtured in these society are likely to treat situation as something unusual - as it didn't fit according to their traditions - and rather than critically thinking to get way past it, they will either panic or take a folly path to deal with it. Practical thinking ensures that at each step whenever something eccentric comes around we have sufficient reasoning ability to get through it with flying colors.

Additionally, when the foundation of education places to much emphasis on morality rather than critical thinking then people of such society frustrate further growth and development that can likely happen in the society's upliftment. For instance students who are taught only the religious teaching from very young age take every decision based on what they have been taught. Imagine a scenario where same sex marriage has been taught as immoral act in a religion and such preaching are embedded in people thought process do you think it would be easy to mobilize such societies to accept this? Pragmatic thinking shapes our mind to be open minded and take every decision by weighing pros and cons and embrace new changes that happen around us.

Some people might still say that morality keeps society intact and saves it from getting prodigal and irreverent. But these people forget that reverence of some oddity is totally absent in such society moreover surveys have shown pragmatic thinker to be equally respectful to others as moral thinker.