An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Electronic devices have invaded into everyone's life to such an extent that even the thought of living without them, even for a day, seems next to impossible. Introduction of elctronic gadgets has grasped attention of not only elders but also of the young generation that spends most part of the day in schools. Even educational institutions have begun to notice interest of students into these gadgets and for that reason many schools have now incorporated tablets, computers and laptop into their curriculum and they encourage student to use these electronic devices for various academic tasks. Although introducing these devices by schools provide many advantages, its hard to ignore several disadvantages, which if not curbed and monitored can deteriorate learning process. Thus it would not be wrong to say that advantages and disadvantages of rapid influx of these devices among kids go hand in hand. Given below are some of advantages and disadvantages that introduction of tablets and laptops can bring among children going to school.

Proponents of introducing laptops and comparable electronic gadgets into schools point out that children can grasp content in effective and easier way when a computer screen teaches a concepts using graphics and video animations. Additionally, they underscore that students remember lessons tought through visual aids for longer duration than traditional method of teaching through chalk and board. Though such benefits seem worthy enough for introducing usage of such devices into classroom, learning always using visual aid has disadvantage as well. Opponents point out that attention span of students plummets as students keep on jumping from one graphic and animated lesson to another. People against use of these devices assert that when a child reads through book, he doesn't easily get enticed to jump to next concept without fully understanding the current one. They say that graphics or thumbnail of video lessons make students meander from one lesson to other rather than just focussing on the current lesson.

People in favour of allowing children to use laptops and computers state that students get opportunities to learn from any place and at anytime. They say that such gadgets give freedom of taking classes from any remote location when children find it difficult to physically attend class. People espousing for such gadgets also say that taking exams and submitting assignments becomes easy and students, who due to some personal reasons find hard to sit for exam also get chance to take exam and submit assignment on time from any place. However, it can not be ignored that taking exams from any place rather than through proper physical monitoring increases chances of cheating as well. In additon to that, physically attending class and sitting for a stipulated amount of time in a certain classroom nurtures a discipline among students from a very young age.

In conclusion, any policy that gets implemented into our society comes with advantages and disadvantages. Proper planning is the only way by which schools can ensure that benefits of using electronic gadgets way more than disadvantages.