The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialise.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statements?

The Internet is almost indispensable in many people’s daily life. The advocates of the internet appreciate it because wherever people are, it can connect them to each other. Meanwhile, many others realizing its bad effects claim that it discourages us to socialize. In my opinion, both of the two ideas are necessary for us to fully comprehend the pros and cons of the internet.

On the one hand, the connection among netizens around the world has become so convenient because of the internet. People can directly and personally communicate to each other via numerous softwares and social networks such as Facebook and Instagram. Besides, we can indirectly know about our overseas friends or family members by reading online newspapers in other nations. For example, nowadays, married couples are more willing to allow their spouse to study or work in foreign countries in some-year period because they are able to update daily life of and talk to each other everyday via free platform such as Skype.

On the other hand, the convenience of the internet discourages the desire of internet users to have face-to-face communication. The internet allows people to participate in society without physically disposing themselves to others, therefore it creates a false sense of attachment of an individual to social groups. According to research published last year in The Economist, this phenomenon has harmfully impacted on victims’ psychological and physical health. For example, according to Japan Times, there was a Japanese man never leaving his room in 2 years because he could connect to the outside world completely through online apps, ordering his food and buying necessities online. According to the article, not only his health was detrimental because of lack of exercising but also his mentality was unstable whenever he met someone in person because he had not done this for too long time.

In short, the internet has both negative and positive facets. While it enhances the global connection at the individual scale, it boosts the isolation of individual from offline communities.