Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford.

What are the reasons for this behaviour?

What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem?

Some people are so addicted to shopping that they purchases things not only unnecessary but also too expensive for them. As a result, they have to borrow money from other people. This essay will identify some causes of this behavior and present some possible solutions to it.

There are some causes for this shopping behavior. Firstly, many young people are influenced by their friends to buy fashion items. Not possessing the same handbags with their friends might make some girls jealous and feel inferior to surrounding people. Moreover, some companies are willing to lend money to consumers with too easy-going conditions. For example, in my country, people can easily borrow enough cash to buy a motorbike just by proving that they have a full-time job with whatever salary. This can discourage buyers from considering carefully how they will use the new item and underestimate the financial burden they have to face.

To tackle the problem, governments need to make efforts to have wide influences on the shopping habits of society. The authority should add the individual finance management in high school curriculum so that students at their young age can have the awareness to control their spending properly. By learning the routine to expense wisely, students are likely to be more responsible for their financial security when they grow up. Besides, loans for personal consumption need to be regulated more strictly. Borrowers should be required to show their financial ability to pay the money back in a shorter time which might not be more than 1 year. This can make consumers more hesitate whenever they go shopping without their own money.

In conclusion, some people buy things they do not use and they cannot pay for it with their own money because they are impacted by peer pressure and they are too easy to borrow money. The governments play the most important role to solve the problem through regulation on education and loan business.