Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined. The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high-school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

The author of the sentence above provides arguments that are generally not well-supported and that can be easily be refuted. As a matter of fact, at least three logical problems can immediately be noticed.

Firstly, it may not be true the assumption that forcing young students to do communitarian works will have as a certain consequence the increment of volunteering engagements.

Moreover, not only the desired effects are unlikely to be achieved, but also this practice could lead students to dislike this kind of activities, since they would feel this experience more as an obligation than as a personal vocation to help their society.

In addition, it is worth noting that the author does not mention anything about the real opportunities which are offered by the charitable organization. Actually, he has made no mention about the types of work offered and rules that must be respected by participants. For instance, the volunteering program could have been changed in the last years and it could have become unsuitable for students in terms of number of active hours required and type of mansions proposed.

Last, even if the author argues that the number of teenager’s volunteers has declined during the last years, he does not report any information about the number of people who is currently in this range of age. To put it in another way: the plunge of the number of young inhabitants of Pleasantville could have led to a justified drop out of teenager volunteers.

In conclusion, if more general data would have been reported and if evidence of the fact that by adding some mandatory hours, the participation at volunteering activities will be increased, the author thesis would have been well-proved.

However, examining all the various angles and factors involved, it is clear that, since his arguments are not totally correct, it could not be proven that the adding of this activity will surely lead to a wider participation in volunteering activities.