You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

In some parts of the world just a small proportion of the population is able to receive extremely high salaries. While many people argue that this situation advantages their country, others are convinced that a maximum salary level should be imposed to avoid the enlargement of the gap between social classes. At a first glance, the latter view can seems reasonable, since in the modern world the problem of equality is even more central, however I strongly believe that the advantages brought by the former strongly overwealth its drawback. In this essay I will analyze both the situations and the related effects they have on citizens.

On the one hand, I am convinced that the presence of billionaires could be benefical for their nations for two main reasons. First, they improve the reputation and the importance of their country in the global scene. For example, the political weight of the USA on the global scene has sharply increased in the last 50 years after the growth of personalities as Elon Musk, Steve Jobs and Bill Gates. In addition, these individuals have been useful for the local economy. Not only their enormous incomes have been taxed by the government, but also they have invested their large sums in local businesses and, thus, they have always supported the development of other local companies both financing or acquiring them.

On the other hand, imposing a maximum salary could seem helpful to avoid a significant gap between the poorest and the richest. Doing that wealth would be well shared and children would all have the same opportunities, with none of them that will be jealous of another. However, this system would not be fair for people who have done lot of sacrifices to gain their capitals and that will not be able to fully possess them. As a matter of fact, the extra money one has earned thoughout hard work and sacrificies may be given by the government to poor citizens who have never worked, and do not know the value of the sum they are receiving.

In conclusion, even though imposing a maximum income level could lead to a more equal society, it would dramatically penalize both the high salaries workers and their own country. As a matter of fact, giving to the wealthiest the freedom to decide how to invest their sums have positive effects not only for these workers but also on the economy and the international reputation of their nation.