Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The statement suggests that an understanding of the past is no needed for individuals who are living in this exact moment. Personally, I firmly believe that, even if it may be true that we should never lose our attachment to reality, it is yet crucial to know about the past of our society, both to better understand the present and to avoid repeating the same mistakes which have already been done in the past.

First, I am convinced that it is impossible to understand our world and its current affairs without an understanding of the events that have led to theirs configuration. For instance, phenomena such as terrorism cannot be deeply understood, without understanding the history of the lands where it has evolved and the feelings that those criminals have experienced over the years. Obviously, knowing their roots would not justify the terrible actions they did, but it may help us to understand how to handle the problem.

In addition, a deep knowledge of past times might be helpful to raise awareness among citizens and to avoid the rehappening of previous mistakes. For instance, learning the consequences that movements such as nazism and fascism had on entire populations may help young generations to understand how specific ideals and actions, that may seem harmless at first, can cause such dramatic destruction. By learning of these terrifying situations, people are more likely to develop an intern coscience that will help them to make decisions in the present and, thus, to avoid that similar cruelties will happen again in the future.

In conclusion, even though I insist that it is crucial to remain focused on our present actions, we should never forget our past. As a matter of fact, the knowledge of history provide us instruments to understand modern issues as well as to prevent from the happening of future ones.