Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that gaining knowledge about the history of humankind is a wastage of time, for those of all living in the present. History does play a vital role in our contemporary era. Without gaining experience from past activities, it will be difficult to proceed further. I personally believe that there is a lot of knowledge and learnings that we can gain from past activities, for a better living.

There is an eminent fact, 'Experience does matter'. Without the experience, we as a human would not have been able to develop or even evolve further. For instance, numerous valuable lessons can be learned from older people, which help us to grow further in life. Albeit it is in the past but the situations and conditions can still be witnessed in our contemporary era. Ranging from little to bigger decisions past experiences does give an individual a sense of taking the right decision at the right time. In schools and institutes, history is even taught as a subject. This is the rich heritage of the human race we are talking about. How can we let it be lost?

Moreover, businesses and the stock market can never run smoothly if there is nobody with some valuable past experience on board. To imply a new business strategy to a particular business one has to study numerous business strategies and decisions that were taken in the past by some other authorities. What is more, in the share market 'History always repeats itself' is a famous saying. For instance, all the studies and learning are always performed on the previous activities that have already happened. As the decisions and the activities taken back then do provide us the necessary knowledge on what and how to execute something.

To conclude, I am completely against the statement stating that the knowledge about past activities is totally useless, specifically to those of us living in the modern era. Almost every field whether it is the personal life, business decisions or the share market etcetera significance of having a valuable experience of the past will always be fruitful.