More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why?

Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary era, many couples decide to not have children at the young age of their marriage. This trend of having children at a somewhat older age is new to our society and mainly influenced by their own respective careers that they want to achieve. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I believe that these can be outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are numerous benefits of having children at some later age. Firstly, both the individuals of a couple get more time to focus on their career progressions. Furthermore, people now-a-days prefer to get settled first over having a child. Secondly, this is a good decision, as if they achieve financial stability first then they will be able to provide all the required amenities to their child without any burden. For instance, if parents do not possess a stable lifestyle or a proper family planning before adding a new member to the family, which is rarely possible at a young age, this financial instability or improper planning can ruin their career and negatively affect the future of their offspring as well. Finally, having child at a little older age also provides some time for the proper planning for the family.

On the other hand, this trend also has some drawbacks. The first drawback is, if a couple decides to have a child at a later age, they will not be able to take care of their child as they are more career-oriented. For instance, a child growing without the love and time of his/her parents can often lead to being a victim of depression. Secondly, the child might feel lonely sometimes as both the parents head to their work, leaving the child in the hands of a caretaker or maid.

In conclusion, I would argue that the benefits of having a kid at some later age are much more than the drawbacks that are associated with it. As the child gets to live a healthy lifestyle with better amenities, a financially stable family and muchmore, whereas, disadvantages can be like kids can get alone at sometimes as parents become career-oriented.