Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

We live in an age where due to the rapid commencement of business models like super convenient stores many small retailer shops, and in-house businesses are on the brink of disappearance, whilst some people think that closing up of local businesses and factories will threaten the livelihood of a large number of people. Albeit being one of the pressing matters these days, neither I completely disagree nor agree. The following essay supports both businesses.

The business model of a supermarket or convenience store is far more advance and better than a retail shop. The commencement of a superstore in a society can be very beneficial both for customers and store owners. These stores provide numerous facilities like availability of all daily use products stacked on racks of a single shop, price comparison between different manufacturers, fancy products, attractive offers, and even bigger discounts on special days. They also promote international brands as well. Shopping from these stores can be much more stress-free than retails shops.

As, every coin has two sides to it, with this rapid advancement of this business model the local small-scaled retail shops and showrooms are not able to compete with them mainly because of the volume of investment they put it in. The convenient stores are just made much more fanciers than shops so that they can attract customers. If somehow this trend does not get changed, it can be life-threatening to the local market and small-scale companies, thus leading to a rise in unemployment. What is more, there are numerous advantages of shopping from retail shops as well, they always sell more fresh and new products, promotes locally made products which can be helpful to the economy. Moreover, being a retailer of a particular product the variety which can be found here is unmatchable.

With all things considered, I am in favour of both business models whether to open a superstore or a particular product's showroom. Both of the models have their own pros and cons. In fact, what I believe is that a superstore should be opened where no other retail shops are already present, this will somehow save a conflict between them.