Writing task 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task

Write about the following topic:

Nowadays, more people are migrating to other countries than ever before. In order to become integrated into society in their adopted countries, immigrants should abandon their old ways and adapt to local customs and codes of behavior.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

The past fifty years have witnessed a vast increase in people migrating to other nations, especially those from the Third World, which raises concern about the integration of newcomers into the community. Whereas there are valid arguments to the contrary, in my experience, it is their responsibility to accept the norms of social behavior of the host country. The justifications for this are twofold.

First of all, it is vitally important that immigrants observe the laws of their host country for the sake of societal order. Imagine how chaotic it would be if they refused to drive on the same side of the road like many other native people. It is, therefore, necessary for all these immigrants to conform themselves to that country’s rules regardless of differences from theirs, otherwise they will fall foul of the laws.

Further and even more importantly, though, in order for immigrants to shortly blend into the new environment, I would contend it is crucial the local’s customs be paid respect to. A salient instance is that learning the native language will enable newcomers to communicate effectively as well as strike up a relationship with people there. In other words, this will facilitate deeper mutual understanding between people from different cultural backgrounds.

By way of conclusion, I reaffirm my position that immigrants should familiarize themselves with the social norms of their adopted country. It is my belief that this will not only benefit the whole nation but also gives them an opportunity to expand their horizons.