You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Friendships can be very meaningful and special, but also very complicated. What are the qualities of a great friend?

What are some things that can weaken a close relationship over time?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge

or experience.

Everyone may consider numerous people as "friends"; however, not many are great friends who play vital roles in everyone's life. One is a close friend when he or she is loyal and supportive. People with those characteristics can creat a valuable friendship with others. Nonetheless, such close friendships may be weakened overtime due to distance or misunderstanding among friends.

As stated above, one can not easily be considered as a great friend, he or she needs to be loyal to his or her friends first. People never want to be friend with a person who always backbite them because they feel disrespected and unsafe. Some people can betray their friends in dangerous situations in the light of their own advantages. These people can hardly be close with anyone, let alone be a great friend. Second, one has to be supportive to be a good mate. For example, one can be happy and proud when his or her friend wins a competition. Likewise, one needs to be right next to his or her friends during their hard time to help them get over the burdens. One who is adjuvant will be a precious friend. Friends meeting tose two demands are sure to be great ones and creat such valuable friendships.

On the other hand, mates can be drifted apart because of unsolved misunderstandings or differences which arise later in their life among them. Quarrels are inevitable among friends and most of them do no harm to their friendships. However, if friends do not make up and keep ignoring one another, their friendships will be weaken. After a long time without talking with friends who used to be great friends, one may find it embarassing to sit down and chat again. Consequently, their friendships are broken. Some people can be close with their friends when they live near one another and go to the same schools or work in a mutual place. A friendship grown on this basis is not strong because one change in the mutual things can make friends be less close. Friends do not go to one school anymore may find keeping in contact difficult. They do not have chances to meet regularly and chat and after a period, they turn from close friends into social friends and finally, even strangers. Therefore distance or differences deadens a close friendship.

In conclusion, the more crucial a friendship is, the more precious a great friend is as both of them are hard to find. A friendship takes a long time to be made while it is weakened rapidly. People need to do everything in their power to maintain thei friendships with others.