You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Population explosion is one of the critical problems facing people on Earth in today's world. It is thus widely believed that to feed such burgeoning population, edible insects should be used for food. Still, there exists some opponents to this perception, who may argue that insect consumption takes a toll on not only people's health but also mother nature. From my perspective, eating food of insect origin would have both upsides and downsides.

There are innumerable merits of consuming food products originated from insects, one of which is the health benefits. It is true that insects are an invaluable source of protein and often not subject to battery farming, meaning that people could avoid taking pernicious substances into their body. Another justification is that eating insects would save thousands of individuals from hunger. For instance, Africa is one of the most densely populated areas on Earth, but countless inhabitants are suffering from food shortage, some even starve to die. For that reason, turning edible insects to foods would result in the abundance of food supply, thereby protecting humans from hunger.

The intake of insect products, however, is detrimental. First and foremost, should people eat insects of unknown origin, they may suffer from foodborne illnesses or get poisoned and decease. The health hazards are even greater when farmers apply chemical substances on their fields for better crop yield, and those insects are undoubtedly adversely affected. Humans, as a result of eating insects, face the risk of contracting lethal maladies such as cancer. Accordingly, many people would not be willing to risk their lives for the trial. It should also be noted that once humans make use of edible insects as foods, the food chain may be disrupted, upsetting the life cycle of certain species and even putting some on the verge of being wiped out.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I would contend that eating foods of animal origin would have not only merits but also demerits.