28/10/2017People should work a fixed number of hours per week, and employers should not ask anybody to work more than this. Do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion.

I differ on the view that employees should work overtime and employers cannot ask them to stay back post working hours. Nowadays in an individual's job there are many attributes that define his or her working hours. Some of these attributes are challenging work culture, job profile, type of work and peer pressure.

To start with, a dynamic work environment calls for that an employee has to work late. In this case, the client for which an employee is working is very demanding and this asks for the person to put an extra effort to satisfy the client needs. Another reason could be his job profile where someone at a senior post may be required to put extra hours. Moreover, he is paid accordingly as well. Third attribute could be type of work. This could be explained as sometimes an individual's work could subject him to learn while working. Since he or she is learning while on job this could mean that an extra effort has to be given in terms of learning and performing their daily duties as well. Lastly, an employee can put extra efforts to showcase his bosses that he is proactive in his job and is the best person to perform a particular task. This is the best example to handle peer competition or pressure.

Adversely, some organizations make a common practice to enforce their staff to sit back late in office even if there is not much work to do. In these cases, the company should realize that an employee is using it's resources like electricity and the output of his efforts is not necessary for the day. Often, managers want their team to stay in office as long as he is working. Such instance can create a disbelief in the team and they can even look out of organization for other opportunities.

In the end, employers should prudently use their workforce as they are an asset to the company and no company would want to lose it's most precious assets. Companies should give it's employees a chance to grow professionally and side by side to maintain the work and personal life balance as well.