Some people believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Others believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

People who believe that universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study miss out the fact that this will waste student's time in learning things that they may not ever use. On the other hand, others who believe that universities should not force students to take any courses other than those that will help prepare them for jobs in their chosen fields are wrong in believing that everything should be learned only for doing jobs. Learning shall not be circumscribed any such beliefs. Students shall be allowed to choose whatever they find fit to their interest and universities shall grant those courses to the desiring students provided that they are eligible for them.

To begin with, the modern day science is a mix of everything we had known. Researches from one field helps in solving problems in others. This intermix of different streams needs people with versatile skills. This versatility is something that can not be forced to be learned. One has to have enthusiasm of being able to learn the two different streams before taking upon such courses. For instance take example of computer engineers who are developing software and robotics that one day would replace natural organs, these engineer have to be equipped with the knowledge from biology as well as engineering. This kind of diversity of knowledge cannot be forced on anyone.

Secondly, universities shall make sure that they do not end up limiting their students to learn only the subjects from their streams. Students should get every chance of developing their knowledge in fields they find interesting. For an example Google's Jacquard is a project to develop designer touch sensitive clothes that would look as well as work smart, for this he has to be well acquainted with a team that is well acquainted with fashion as well as technical knowledge.

On the other hand, abiding students to learn different streams would result in them getting confused over time management. This will prevent them from dedicating the requisite time on their task of interest. Additionally, one may not even be capable of learning other streams. An artist may need weeks to finish a painting but how can he if he has to write complex computer algorithms. This confusion will only result in an under-performance in both streams and a demotivating feeling of being incapable.

Conclusively, education should encourage liberal and dynamic thinking that students posses. Hindering the flow of talent from one stream to another might pose a threat to existence of innovation.