Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Sharing of information to the general public comes with great repercussions, therefore it should be at a leaders discretion to make the decision. Many countries have laws that protect the release of information to general masses. The only reason these legislature are in place is because of the impact that the information may create on the society. Further discussion shall shed more light on the topic.

To begin with, withholding information from general population ensures that any fact which can create disturbance among day to day conduct is not released to the people as far as it is can result in evoking a maudlin response from the citizens. A proper procedure is followed by leaders to conduct the dissimination of any such fact to avoid any severe consequences.

Moreover, there are certain circumstances that demand keeping the information confidential, take for example the demonitisation carried out in india. Many political parties and leaders had censured the contemporary minister for not sharing any information on invalidation of legal tender. But as stated by many agencies and precedented procedures, it was clear that any leak of information in such cases would have resulted in failure of the step that was taken to rid country of feigned curreny.

In addition, other departments like national security and military have a code of conduct. For instance, If the mission carried out to eliminate Osama at his residence had been well branded and published in news months before the implementation, it would have been a grand failure. Similar example is from India's surgical strike on terrosit camps around the line of control, where it was demanded by many ruling ministers to share a video or some format of information as evidence to prove the impelementation of military action, but as the legislature states non of the evidence was released to public.

However, desparate situations call for desperate decisions, we know of several events when sharing the information to the public had benefited the nation. For an example, the lack of resources and eradication of funding of government of India during its war with Pakistan under the leadership of Indira gandhi after 1947, was a pivotal information released to the citizens with a corollary request to skip one meal a day to support the national funding in war.

Conclusively, from the examples and details stated above we can recapitulate that release of information is a meticulas task and great care should be taken while doing so.